Skip to content
March 13, 2012 / normandlou

I’m no polish snob!

20120313-120638.jpg

Hello. My name is Christa and I love drug store nail polish!
I know. I know! How could this be?? They are too thick, too thin, they take too long to dry, they get goopy! They chip!
Yes. I appreciate that O.P.I is a beautiful formula, smooth as silk. Essie has gorgeous colors (although I do despise their tiny brush). I don’t question the quality of these and other high end polishes, but the cost!!
So. Here’s the deal. I can often get 4 or five colors of drug store polish for the same price as an O.P.I. To me. This is awesome! Especially when you’re talking about trendy colors. Nail art is HUGE right now and drug store polishes make it affordable for everyone!
I change my polishes often, so I don’t mind if they wear as long. It also doesn’t bother me that some of these polishes take a little extra care to apply.
Here are some of my favorites.
-Revlon. All Revlon. Beautiful colors. Easy application. Two coats is all you need. I find they last very well.
-Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro. This is a really nice smooth formula!
-Sally Hanson Hard as nails. Cheapest of the bunch! Super thick formula can be tricky! But I love it for dotting and other nail designs. It does stay tacky for a while after applying so a fast dry top coat is great.
I really enjoy these and all the others! I would like to hear your thoughts on this post. Which are you favorite drug store polishes. Or do you hate them all???

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sugarmitten / Mar 13 2012 2:57 pm

    I get so excited with each new collection by OPI and Essie and such but I also buy drugstore brands. I love Sinful Colors more for nail art than for an actual manicure. I’ve had mixed experiences with Revlon but I think that is normal for most brands. I’ve never tried Sally Hanson Hard as Nails but it sounds like it would be good for stamping?

    • normandlou / Mar 13 2012 3:15 pm

      I just bought my first sinful colors yesterday. I have never seem them here (thunder bay, on. Canada). But I took a drive to the states and I figured they were worth a try for 2.00. Some of the sally Hanson colors work really well for stamping. Trial and error.

      • sugarmitten / Mar 13 2012 4:57 pm

        I never bought any Konad polish even though it seems well worth it because I can’t seem to bring myself to buy a polish that is only good for stamping. Careful with some of the Sinful Colors I have had pretty bad staining with a few of them, that’s why I prefer to just use them in nail art rather than full manis.

      • normandlou / Mar 13 2012 11:56 pm

        I did buy the black and white Konad polishes and the difference is amazing!! I held off too though!
        Thanks for the tip about the sinful colors, I only used it for accents on one of my dotting tool manicures, I will look out for the staining!

  2. Amanda (Mae) / Mar 13 2012 9:55 pm

    I agree. I love my opi and their beautiful for,ula and collections.. But i do enjoy me my drugstore polishes. I like revlon, e.l.f.( if you count target as a drugstore 🙂 ) spoiled wet n wild is debateable.. Its not horrible.. A few more im sure 🙂

    • normandlou / Mar 13 2012 11:54 pm

      Wet and wild is the most hit or miss of them all. But when you can get it for a dollar it can be worth the gamble!!

Leave a Reply

