Skip to content
March 29, 2012 / normandlou

Pink Ombré Nail Art

20120329-120326.jpg

I’ve been wanting to do an ombré design for a while now. But unbelievably I never seemed to have the right colors. I didn’t have 5 of one color that I felt looked good together. When I found some pink polishes (simply sweet) at a discount store I knew it was time to give it a try.

20120329-120533.jpg

Left to right: Icing “tickled pink” O.P.I “lucky lucky lavender” two polishes by Simply Sweet (no names on bottles) and Sinful Colors “cream pink”

I planned to leave it plain but then I couldn’t resist adding the flowers and dots. This was a red angel plate. One tip: this design had a stem, I just placed a piece of scotch tape over the part of the design that I didn’t want. Hope you like it!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sugarmitten / Mar 29 2012 12:16 pm

    I’ve been having the same problem, seems like it would be so easy to do ombre but every time I go through my collection I can’t find 5 different shades in the same color that I think go well together. Finally last night I found 5 purples so I think I am going to try it today. I love the flowers you added. Very pretty!

    • normandlou / Mar 29 2012 12:25 pm

      Thanks! I know. Seems like with well over a hundred polishes, it should have been an easy task!

      • sugarmitten / Mar 29 2012 12:36 pm

        I know! It’s like some of them are too bright or too dusty or have shimmer (I like ombre with all creme) or too much of a pink when you are looking for a purple or whatever…it should have been a much easier task! Hopefully the one’s I picked out last night look OK once I get them on the nails. I kept going back and forth, I picked out purples, then pinks, then blues, then back to purples…I think I have more pinks than anything else and it seemed like none of the pinks looked right together! Weird!

  2. indigo45fly / Apr 2 2012 10:12 pm

    Hi! I wanted you to know that I’ve nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award! Copy/save the badge and follow the rules here:

    Wow – I’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!

    Happy Blogging!

  3. Irnbb / Apr 3 2012 5:49 pm

    Hey! I nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogging Award! Copy/save the badge and follow the rules here:
    http://irnbb.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/ive-been-nominated/

Leave a comment