Skip to content
June 25, 2012 / normandlou

Neon Swirls

20120625-174042.jpg

I really didn’t expect to love this design as much as a do. I used this Klean Color set.
They stamped beautifully and really pop against the white.

20120625-174200.jpg

I used a Shany plate and it stamped flawlessly. They kind of look like fireworks and would be really fun in metallics or the colors of hour flag Overall I’m really pleasantly surprised with this eye popping manicure.

20120625-174317.jpg

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lovenikiblog / Jun 25 2012 6:06 pm

    These are so cool! Love them!
    http://www.LoveNIki.com

    • normandlou / Jun 25 2012 6:07 pm

      Thank You. They are so eye catching! Can’t stop looking it my nails.

  2. Kellie / Jun 25 2012 7:40 pm

    I love the colors! I’m so glad neons are back in style…ofcourse I wouldn’t go so far as to dress all in neon like I did back in the ’80s lol…but having the bright vibrant colors on my nails is so much fun.

    • normandlou / Jun 25 2012 9:27 pm

      I know!! I feel like neon has come back so many times since I was young. I’m not sure why Im so obsessed this time!

      • Kellie / Jun 25 2012 9:31 pm

        Keep the neons coming! I just removed the neon orange I have been wearing for the past several days and am trying to decide what I want to do next lol. =D

      • normandlou / Jun 25 2012 9:47 pm

        I think I will! I’m really liking it.

  3. Amanda (Mae) / Jun 25 2012 9:15 pm

    This looks awesome

  4. budziak / Jun 25 2012 10:10 pm

    Looks like fireworks! Just in time for 4th of July. I love your nail design!

  5. dani / Jul 2 2012 7:59 pm

    That’s awesome! what’s a Klean Colour set? Stamping kit? I’ve tried them in the past but found they’d ruin already applied polish, and stamp never really came out that well.. so have they gotten better because this is so cute! if I thought I could get a stamping kit that worked that well I’d get on in a min. Sooooo cute!!!

    • normandlou / Jul 2 2012 8:47 pm

      Ok. First. Kleancolor is a polish brand. They have a set of great neons called candy cast. They Are really opaque, which is a rarity for neon polishes. I got mine on amazon.com.
      Some stamping sets are REALLY good. Konad is the best, but they are expensive. Nice alternatives are Bundle Monster or Red Angel. The key is really the stamping polish. It has to be really thick and opaque. The Konad polishes are great, but lots of other regular polishes work well too. As long as its a thicker opaque polish. Again, amazon or eBay has great prices for these items. Super happy to answer any of your questions!!

  6. Megyn / Aug 2 2012 10:44 pm

    I love my Konad stamping kit, but I find the extra polish colours are just too expensive, what other brands have you found that are thick enough??

    • normandlou / Aug 3 2012 11:02 am

      I rarely use the special polishes. I use the black from time to time, if I need a REALLY opaque stamp. For my black I usually use Wet and Wild Ebony Hates Chris. It is around 2.00 or less. For the white I play around. I have an old clumpy Sally hanson Xtreme wear white that works really well. Not sure how it would work with a fresh one.
      The lighter the base color, the more options you will have for stamping.
      For silver I use Sally Hanson Insta Dry Silver Sweep.
      A great trick is to spread a base color on a ziploc bag, let it dry and then just experiment with your polishes.
      Hope this helps!

      • Megyn / Aug 3 2012 11:12 am

        Thanks so much!!

      • normandlou / Aug 3 2012 11:41 am

        You’re welcome! There are actually some great YouTube posts comparing polishes. Those are really helpful!

Leave a Reply

