Skip to content
July 4, 2012 / normandlou

Julep It Girl Nail Art

20120704-160625.jpg

Ok! I was soo excited to have finally signed up to be a Julep Maven and to get my introductory box today!
After I got over the disappointment of not receiving the free Oh Canada polish that was actually what pushed me over the edge to join, I was excited about the fresh colors.
I received Lily, Daisy, and Sasha. I used them all in one design because I was eager to try out these much talked about polished.
I really, really, really wish I could say I was more impressed!!! I really thought I would be. I found all three polishes so have crazy different formulas, none of which were that easy to apply. Sasha was particularly think, while Lily was quite thin with a dull finish.
Drying time left a lot to be desired.
I am definitely going to go for another month and hope that this was just a weird fluke.
I would love to hear you thoughts and experiences.

20120704-161327.jpg

Advertisements

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. megis217 / Jul 4 2012 6:24 pm

    omg im so sorry that you didn’t like them.. but your mani looks fabulous… i had mentioned in my post that the penny box was going to be an intro box and then you would have to make sure that under your account it didn’t say “skip” to get july. you can still get the box for 19.99. if you had problems with the polishes you can email them and they will replace them.

    for me lily was like glue and they sentl me a new bottle, daisy is kind of the same formula but i didnt have a problem with it and Sasha was perfect.

    email them maven@ julep.com and they will fix it

    • normandlou / Jul 5 2012 10:57 am

      I’m copy and pasting the same reply that I gave Adventures in Polishland, because to reword it would be silly.

      yes. i figured i must have screwed up something on my end to get the box that I wasn’t expecting. oh well. The intro colors are pretty enough.
      I don’t know what to say about the formulas, I know my experience isn’t what most people have had. I really wanted to love them. I love so many inexpensive polishes, even if they are tough to apply, but these were almost unusable. Maybe they were old, or something happened in shipping with the hot weather? I will give them another try for sure!

      • megis217 / Jul 9 2012 11:54 pm

        have you emailed them though? julep will send you replacement polishes for free.

      • normandlou / Jul 10 2012 10:20 am

        no. i didn’t. i didn’t really feel the need to complain since they were free and i’m sure its a weird fluke. maybe i will write them though.

  2. Adventures in Polishland / Jul 4 2012 7:22 pm

    that’s so strange about the box! here’s what I’m thinking– you chose the inro box so that’s why you didn’t get the O Canada polish. You had to choose the July Maven box for that. but the formulas– that’s weird! my experience so far is that they are so nice to apply. your mani looks great, though!

    • normandlou / Jul 5 2012 10:55 am

      yes. i figured i must have screwed up something on my end to get the box that I wasn’t expecting. oh well. The intro colors are pretty enough.
      I don’t know what to say about the formulas, I know my experience isn’t what most people have had. I really wanted to love them. I love so many inexpensive polishes, even if they are tough to apply, but these were almost unusable. Maybe they were old, or something happened in shipping with the hot weather? I will give them another try for sure!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: